CSBC Honours 2013 CASBA Recipients at Annual Gala

Four individuals, five organizations and one municipality were honoured this year at the Canadian Safe Boating Council's (CSBC) annual CASBAs awards gala, held at the Sheraton Centre in Toronto, Ontario, on January 12.
The CSBC hosts the annual event to recognize the efforts of the general public, volunteers, professionals, companies, agencies and organizations that have distinguished themselves in the fields of boating safety and environmental stewardship during the 2013 boating season.

The winners were selected from a host of nominations received from the public at large, covering boating safety stories from British Columbia to Quebec.

CASBA award recipients included:

Safeguarding the Environment – The Town of Oakville (Ontario) for achieving Boating Ontario's Clean Marine 5 Diamond award for their ongoing work related to environmental sustainability in both the Oakville and Bronte Harbours.

Marine Professional of the Year – Ken MacDonald of Midland, Ontario, for career-long contributions to boating safety on and around Georgian Bay.

Visible Personal Flotation Device (PFD) Wear in Advertising – Yamaha Motor Canada for its continuing commitment to featuring lifejacket wear as a normal part of the boating tradition. Yamaha first won this award in 2007 and has continued to be a leader in promoting lifejacket wear.

Special Recognition Award – Canadian Tire Corporation for their support of the Canadian Safe Boating Council's Five Key Messages during Safe Boating Awareness Week 2013 through their weekly flyers and nation-wide in-store signage.

Special Recognition Award – The Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons in recognition of 75 years dedicated to boating education and promoting safety on the water.

Ontario Power Generation Best Boating Safety Initiative – Aquanaute Training Centre, for their annual Rendez-vous Nautique event designed to embrace the fun and family lifestyle of boating. It also provides a perfect venue to promote safe and responsible boating.

Top Volunteer Dedicated to Safe Boating – Randy Johnson of Brantford, Ontario, for his lifetime volunteer role with the Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons, the Pointe au Baril Islanders' Association and other organizations.

Best Media Contribution to Boating Safety –The Quebec Lifesaving Society for its National Drowning Prevention Week initiatives during the 2013 boating season.

Special Recognition Award – Robert (Bob) Eaton for his tireless efforts working with Canadian marinas to adopt environmentally friendly processes through the Clean Marine Program.

Stearns Rescue of the Year Award – Chris Cameron of Harbour Air for his rescue, from a float plane, of three canoeists in the glacial waters of Green Lake, near Whistler, BC on Canada Day 2013.

The CSBC is a registered charity, and its members and partners from all areas of the marine community include boat and marine product manufacturers, boating education organizations, water safety and marine law enforcement sectors. The organization's goal is to work to ensure that the millions of Canadians who head out on the water are equipped with the knowledge they need for a safe day on the water.