CSBC Honours Numerous Industry Members at Annual Symposium

The Canadian Safe Boating Council (CSBC) says its Annual Symposium, held in Whistler, BC from September 23 to 25, was a success. Organizers say more than 70 boating and water safety advocates from across Canada and the US were in attendance.

The theme of this year's event was Building the Business of Safe Boating. Symposium presentations were made by the Vancouver Police Service, the Canadian Red Cross, BC's Condor Consulting, Fox 40 International Inc. and International Yacht Training in BC. Prior to the event, CSBC also held its Cold Water Workshop in Vancouver as well as a national meeting of operator competency course providers.
At the event's closing banquet, CSBC took the opportunity to recognize the contributions of several volunteers.

Distinguished Service Citations were awarded to the following individuals:

Bill Taylor – in recognition of his commitment over many years, and his leadership in the changes required to comply with the new charitable organization legislation under the new Canada Not-for-Profit Corporations Act.

Rick Cassels, in recognition for his successful work to secure financial sponsorships for CSBC events and willingness to step forward for the council as the need arises.

CSBC Certificates of Merit 2013 were awarded to the following individuals:

Virgil Chambers, retiring Executive Director of the National Safe Boating Council, for being a true partner and collaborator in support of the CSBC's boating safety campaigns and initiatives over the past 20 years.

Cyndi Hodgson, CSBC Board member, for innovation in designing and delivering the CSBC flagship newsletter, excellence in media relations for the 2012 Symposium, and advancing the use of social media.

Cathy Sandiford, for leadership in major strategic initiatives: the Sponsorship Workshop, the successful Canadian Safe Boating Campaign submission, and advancing the use of social media.

Michael Vollmer, for leadership in the Business Practices Review and protection of the CSBC's intellectual property, and his continuing wise counsel and encyclopedic marine safety knowledge.

Ted Fortuna, for his leadership in ensuring that the CSBC Business Plan “Action Priority One” (revenue generation) positions the CSBC for financial growth into the future.

Vahe Vassilian, in recognition of his successful work year-after-year to secure financial sponsorships, and the business acumen and commitment he brings to multiple CSBC activities.

Bob Minielly, in recognition of relentless pursuit of new CSBC members and supporters, unwavering support of colleagues and enthusiastic promotion of the CSBC.
The following departing Directors received CSBC Certificates of Service 2013:

Cameron Taylor, in grateful recognition of four years of distinguished volunteer service as a CSBC Director (2009 to 2013)

Serge St-Martin, in grateful recognition of four years of distinguished volunteer service as a CSBC Director (2009 to 2013)

Wayne Young, in grateful recognition of two years of distinguished volunteer service as a CSBC Director (2011 to 2013)

Next year's CSBC Annual Symposium is set to take place from September 21 to 23 in Ottawa, Ontario.