Innovation Award winners Announced at IBEX

Winners of the annual Innovation Awards presented at the International BoatBuilders' Exhibition and Conference (IBEX) have been announced. The show, which is open now, runs until September 19 at the Kentucky Exposition Center in Louisville.

In total, 12 marine companies received Innovation Awards for their products, while three others received honourable mentions.

A panel of technical boating journalists and editors from Boating Writers International (BWI) judged submitted entries and presented the awards to the winners at the event's All-Industry Breakfast.

IBEX organizers created the Innovation Awards to recognize significant contributions to marine product technology.

IBEX 2013 Innovation Award winners include:

Boat Care & Maintenance: Pettit Paint Hydrocoat Eco
Boatbuilding Methods & Materials: Safety Components Fabric Technologies Breakwater X
Boatyard and Dealer Hardware and Software: Navico System Builder
Deck Equipment & Hardware: Syntec Industries Smart Wheel
Honorable Mention: Marine Accessories Corp. Xtreme Bimini
Furnishing & Interior Parts: Spradling International Marine Fastmount Very Low Profile
Honorable Mention: Kenyon International Silken 2
Mechanical Systems: Dometic Marine SeaLand Orbit 7100 Series Toilet
Environmental Award: Clean Marine Systems Environmental Valve Vent
OEM Electronics: Co-awards to Volvo Penta Glass Cockpit System and Raymarine Evolution Autopilot
Honorable Mention: Fusion Electronics Marine Stereo with Universal Media Device Dock and Bluetooth Streaming
Outboard Engine: Yamaha Marine Group 2.8L inline Four Marine Power Platform
Propulsion Parts, Propellers: Seastar Solutions Lower Unit Fill/Drain Kit
Safety Equipment: American Boat & Yacht Council Safety Equipment App