Innovation Award Winners Named at Miami International Boat Show

The National Marine Manufacturers Association and Boating Writers International  announced the winners of the 2016 Miami International Boat Show Innovation Awards, presented during the annual Industry Breakfast, held at the Rusty Pelican restaurant on show grounds.

This year's program evaluated 77 products across 31 categories featuring an extensive pool of entries. The judges ultimately selected 17 winners in 16 categories and three honourable mentions for a total of 20 honourees.

The 2016 Miami International Boat Show Innovation Award winners are:
Boat Care and Maintenance: Glen Raven Custom Fabrics, Contour

Center Console/ Walkaround Fishing Boats: Scout Boats, Inc., ForwardFIVE Performing Seating Station

Consumer Electronics, Mobile Applications and Software – Dual Winners:  Simrad-Navico, StructureScan 3D; FLIR Systems, Inc., AX8 Thermal Monitoring Camera

Consumer Safety Equipment: Weems and Plath, SOS Distress Light
Honorable Mention: Spinlock USA, LumeOn Lifejacket Illumination

Cuddy Cabin and Bowrider Boats: Bayliner Marine Corporation, VR5 Runabout

Deck Equipment: Premier Marine, Inc., Ricochet Ladder
Honorable Mention: Anchor & Docking, Inc., Anchor Turner Kit

Docking and Fendering Equipment: Bellingham Marine Ind., Inc., Portable Floating Timber Dock System

Electric Motor/ Battery Powered Propulsion: Johnson Outdoors Marine Electronics, Inc., Minn Kota Riptide Ulterra electric trolling motor

Fishing Equipment, Gear and Tackle: Taco Metals, Inc., Carbon Fiber Outrigger Poles

Furnishings and Interior Parts: Westhead Group, Flexima Nautic

Jet Boats: BRP U.S. Inc., Intelligent Shift and Throttle

Mechanical and Electrical Systems: Indmar Products Co., Inc., Strainer Pro

Outboard Engines: Seven Marine, LLC, 627 SpectraBlade

Personal Gear, Soft Goods: Grundens USA, Breakwater Pants
Honorable Mention: Gill North America, Ltd., FG2 Tournament Jacket

Personal Watercrafts: Yamaha WaterCraft Group Company, TR-1 Marine High Output Engine

Pontoon Boats: Premier Marine, Inc., Dodici

The Innovation Awards judging committee is comprised of BWI members who perform product testing throughout the year and have specific expertise in marine products and equipment. The committee is co-chaired by Zuzana Prochazka, a boating and travel journalist, and photographer and Alan Wendt, President of Boating Writers International.