Naden Boats Receives Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation Award

Naden Boats, Temagami, Ontario, was one of 16 award recipients honoured by the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation (CBCF) in April. The foundation recognized the efforts of organizations and individuals at a special gala held at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel in Toronto.

Naden Boats was honoured for the Pink Boat Tour campaign it organized last October, which included a donated 14-foot Naden Fisherman aluminum boat package being raffled off in support of the CBCF CIBC Run For the Cure in North Bay, Ontario. The raffle raised nearly $20,000 for breast cancer research.

"Each and every sponsor of items for the boat / motor / trailer package as well as each ticket purchaser, volunteer ticket seller and dealer who organized events were all instrumental in making this inaugural tour a success,' says Andre Lamothe, Owner of Temagami Boat Manufacturing, the maker of Naden boats.  "Without all of you this would not have happened. I noticed when walking along the parade route and almost daily since then that this boat means a lot to people. It's a powerful sign of something good that can happen in the midst of this disease.'

The boat package also included a 15hp Tohatsu outboard, Easy Hauler trailer and a pair of Salus Marine PFDs (a combined value of approximately $7,000).
At the event, CBCF also recognized:
• Dr. John Semple (Toronto) – Cause Leadership Award
• Paul Guy, Nicole Noxon, Ashton Lubman and David St. James (Toronto)
– Community Event Commitment Award
• Mike Kiely (Blue Mountain) – Community Event Commitment Award
• Michelle Manglal-Lan (Mississauga) – Community Event Commitment Award
• Govan Brown and Associates (Toronto) – Corporate Commitment Award
• Rogers Radio Group Ottawa (Ottawa) – Corporate Commitment Award
• Stephanie Koett (Sudbury) – Erin McBride Leadership Award – New Run Director
• Susan Enns (Ottawa) – Erin McBride Leadership Award – Returning Run Director
• Brownyn Best (Toronto) – Outstanding Volunteer Award
• Scott Thornton (Blue Mountain) – Outstanding Volunteer Award
• David Warren (Toronto) – Outstanding Volunteer Award
• Michelle Blackburn (Thunder Bay) – CIBC Run for the Cure Commitment Award
• Wendy Garner (Waterloo) – CIBC Run for the Cure Commitment Award
• Wendy McCuaig (Kitchener) – CIBC Run for the Cure Commitment Award
• Maya Mainland – Gratton (Ottawa) – Outstanding Youth Volunteer Award