New Award Sponsors for CPS

The Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons (CPS) has a new sponsor for two of the group's annual awards.

Alex Milne Associates, manufacturer of  Natural Marine Eco-boat care products, and Fortress Anchors (represented by Milne in Canada) have entered into a three-year agreement to present the annual CPS Environment Award and the CPS Training Officers of the Year Awards. Bill Milne, representing both brands, was on hand at the organization's annual Christmas event, held at the National Yacht Club in Toronto, where he was himself presented with a plaque of recognition from CPS by Commander Dave Agnew.

2010 CPS award winners include:

Clean Marine Environmental Award: District Estuaire Saint-Laurent, presented to District Commander Jean-Robert Lavergne.

Howard G. Peck Volunteer of the Year Award: Hans Etzel, Barrie Power and Sail Squadron

Officer of the Year Awards, sponsored by Fortress Anchor/Natural Marine: Deborah Churchill, Avalon Power and Sail;  Jacques Theoret, Escadrille Yamaska-Orford; Bruce Holden, Kitchener-Waterloo Power and Sail; Alfred J.Cumiford, Royal City Power and Sail Squadron.

G. William Bowman Instructor of the Year Awards, sponsored by Weems & Plath:
Gary Case, Avalon Power and Sail; Carolyn Reid, Ashbridge's Bay Power and Sail; George Brookes, Prince George Power and Sail Squadron.

ICOM Canada Electronic Instructor of the Year Awards: Serge Castonguay, Escadrille Hochelaga; Allan Bell, Port Credit Power and Sail; Peter Bennett, Vancouver Power and Sail Squadron.