Thirteen Products Honoured For Innovation at IBEX 2010

Thirteen marine manufacturers were honoured for innovative achievement by the National Marine Manufacturers Association (NMMA) and Boating Writers International (BWI) at the 2010 International Boat Builders' Exhibition and Conference (IBEX) Innovation Awards in Louisville, KY.

Winning companies received their 2010 IBEX Innovation Awards during the annual IBEX Industry Breakfast at the Kentucky Exposition Center.

The Innovation Awards, organized by NMMA and judged by BWI, recognize those products that best meet the following criteria: innovative distinction from other products currently being manufactured; benefit to the marine industry and/or consumer; practicality; cost-effectiveness; and availability to the consumer within 60 days of award receipt. A total of 67 new products were entered in this year's IBEX Innovation Awards program – 44% more product entries than in 2009.

“The winners recognized at IBEX today are a testament to the ongoing commitment to boating advancements and ingenuity necessary to the future of boating,” noted NMMA President Thom Dammrich. “It's encouraging to see companies focus their efforts on creative solutions to help their customers and further the industry, and I'm excited to see how these products adapt in the market.”

IBEX Innovation Awards were presented to the following companies in these categories:

Boatbuilding Methods and Materials

Winner: Structural Composites – for its Prisma SPT Strip Plank Technology

Deck Equipment and Hardware

Winner: Sawgrass Distributors – for its combination rod and drink holder.

Furnishings and Interior Parts

Winner: Corium Urethane Technology – its system creates seats, dashboards and interior wall finishing by using the molded PU-Skin and foam technology.

Mechanical Systems

Winner 1: Dometic – for its In-Duct Breathe Easy Air Purifier.

Winner 2: Whale Water Systems – for its? Gulley IC compact pump.

Electrical Systems

Winner: Professional Mariner – for its Pro Nautic P

Honorable mention: Blue Sea Systems for the Safety Hub

Outboard Engines

Winner: Yamaha – for its new VF250 outboard engine.

Boatyard Hardware

Winner: Kasco Marine – for its Robust-Aire Marine Diffuser. 

Honorable mention: Pier Vantage for its web-based boatyard maintenance software package

Propulsion Parts, Propellers

Winner: Power Tech Propellers – for its Safety Torque Hub and Drive Line Protector system

OEM Electronics

Winner: Garmin – for its GPS Map 7215

Trailers, Parts and Trailer Accessories

Winner: Quality Mark – for addressing experiences boaters encounter while enjoying the water with its new trailer add-on, the Lever Jack.

Honorable mention: Safety Sentry for its dual purpose trailer hitch with theft deterrent

Safety Equipment

Winner: PlasDeck – synthetic teak decking blends phosphorescent technology in the caulk line. After being charged by normal daylight it glows a soft azure blue at night.

Environmental Award

Winner: Energy Tech Marine Group – Power Core Hybrid-Ion Energy Propulsion System.