Yachtmen's Spring Thaw Luncheon in April

Three people will be honoured at this year's 26th Annual Yachtmen's Spring Thaw Luncheon at The Boulevard Club in Toronto, ON, April 24.

The Yachtsman of the Year  – Sail Trophy (sponsored by The Paul B. Helliwell Foundation) goes to David Howard, a veteran yacht racer whose accomplishments in the sailing community spans five decades. Howard's extensive race history includes his participation in the 1956 summer Olympic Games held in Melbourne, Australia, where he led Canada's entry in the Dragon Class.

The Yachtsman of the Year – Power Trophy (sponsored by Harper Power Products Inc.) goes to Scott MacCrimmon, co-owner of Ed Huck Marine Ltd. MacCrimmon is past president of the Ontario Marine Operators Association (OMOA), current member of the association's advisory board, and has been honoured with the Bruce Robertson award for contributions to the OMOA. MacCrimmon is also the chairman of the board for the Canadian Discover Boating board and director of the Discover Boating board in the United States.

The Yachtsmen's Spring Thaw Environment Award (sponsored by Mason's Chandlery and Natural Marine) will be presented to Greg LeBreton, a physics teacher at Brampton Centennial Secondary School. LeBreton has been writing boating- and environment-related articles for various publications for more than 10 years.

Net proceeds raised at the event will benefit the Toronto Brigantine Inc.'s sail training program on the Great Lakes for youths aged 13 to 18. The luncheon will also raise money through a raffle that includes sail training, artwork and a Fortress Anchor for a vessel up to 27 feet. Hundreds of door prizes will also be given away.

This year's keynote speaker is Bruce Bell, a Toronto historian.

The event begins with a reception at 11:45 a.m. followed by the luncheon at 12:10 p.m. Tickets are $75.

For more information visit www.securefail.com/ystl_reg.pdf or call (416) 536-8110.